Posted by: terrapraeta | April 14, 2009

Not Choosing is Still a Choice


Choices always were a problem for you.
What you need is someone strong to guide you.
Deaf and blind and dumb and born to follow,
what you need is someone strong to use you…
like me,
like me.

Tool, Opiate

The Philosophy Blog War #10 started yesterday, and Archikins, over at The Arch Files has written an entry about Choices.

I have never been very good at making choices. Unlike the typical American, this is not because I tend to follow the herd – quite the contrary – but I do have a tendency to to choose not to choose. I have built a lot of philosophy up around it: I’m a fatist, I prefer to let the wind take me, because it usually ends up for the best, I believe that we end up right where we are supposed to be, if we don;t fight those winds.

You know what. Bullshit.

It has been fear, all along. If I choose, I might be wrong. I might end up regretting my choice, I might discover that all my vaunted self analysis has been simply mental masturbation, a game, escapism. But if I chose no choice then I can forget about consequences, lay them right at the feet of the gods and move on.

How lame is that?

I do, honestly believe that one of our cultural problems is that we take too much on ourselves, we try to control too much rather than letting the gods sort out the big picture stuff. But that is not the same thing as avoiding the responsibility of choice. In fact, I think it is kind of antithetical. Instead of acknowledging that the power of life and death is beyond us (and always will be, should be, can only be), I take it the next extreme and say that the gods are the only ones that can decide anything for me. So I give up not only the power of life and death, but my life, itself.

Wow. I think I just scored myself a complex.

I’m sure that this is one of those moments that oneguy talked about in the last Blog War with Take it Out and Look at It. He said that when we do this, take individual characteristics out of their natural place and concentrate on them, we inevitably make those characteristics larger, more important, than they truly are. I’m sure I am doing that right now.

But that does not mean that I am wrong. I think I am going to have some heavy thinking to do.

(Originally Posted December 6, 2006)

Responses

  1. […] one point last year, I had come to the conclusion that I needed to be proactive about the situation: stop waiting for (and pushing) my honey to be able to deal with my issues and take it upon myself […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

