Posted by: terrapraeta | May 11, 2009

It’s Elemental


Your Element is Earth

Your power color: yellow

Your energy: balancing

Your season: changing of seasons

Dedicated and responsible, you are a rock to your friends.
You are skilled at working out even the most difficult problems.
Low key and calm, you are happiest when you are around loved ones.
Ambitious and goal oriented, you have long term plans to be successful.

Last summer, we took a trip to the US Pacific Northwest. The details are not terribly important, except that I found myself completely enchanted with the western states. The wide open vistas, the mountains, the deserts, the high plains. I loved it all. I felt, home.

We have talked extensively over the last few years about where we would like to move once our son has finished school. We considered the The Smoky Mountains in Eastern Tennessee, and we considered other areas in the Appalachian Mountains. But none of that quite seemed right. So then I started thinking about the American Southwest. I finally realized that what has always drawn me is the desert. Not quite sure why, but there it is.

Due to various schedule conflicts, my honey and I traveled separately. When he arrived, he told me about an odd experience he had in flight. He noticed that the plane flew in and out of heavy cloud cover a number of times. But one of those times, he sensed a wrongness. Something pulled at his consciousness: something that pulled him away from his logical, rational self and engaged his sense directly. As he watched and felt, he gradually came to understand what he was feeling: the ‘cloud’ they were passing through was not a cloud at all, but rather smoke from a raging forest fire below.

When he told me all this, I made an intuitive leap: he has always been drawn to water. A number of times over the years he has said that he’s not sure he could live somewhere completely landlocked. That he has always oriented himself in relationship to nearby large bodies of water, whether one of the Great Lakes or an Ocean. Even a large river seems to him as if it may not be significant enough. So all of this ran through my head and I announced that he was a water person, sensitive to water, and perhaps he should take up dowsing.

At the same time, it became equally clear to me that I am sensitive to Earth. That is what the landscape was speaking to me as I traveled. In fact, it occurred to me that I preferred the dry, stark, young lands of the west far more than the mountains of the Eastern US: perhaps because the Appalachians are so heavy with plant life that the speech of the Earth is muffled in my ears.

So now, as we move forward and decide on our future home, I think we will make special effort to look for a place that speaks to both of us – and we have an extra bonus in hopefully, being able to guess ahead of time what sorts of places might provide that.

(Originally Posted January 15, 2007)

Leave a Reply

Categories

