Posted by: terrapraeta | September 23, 2009

My Backyard


Forward troubles illinois, lock the front door, oh boy!
Look at all the happy creatures dancing on the lawn.
Bother me tomorrow, today, Ill buy no sorrows.

Doo, doo, doo, lookin out my back door.

Creedence Clearwater Revival, Looking Out My Backdoor

My Backyard

I went hiking yesterday afternoon. It was fabulous. The weather was brisk and overcast, but that just meant that so long as I was moving I was comfortable.

The night before, we had our first snow in the mountains:

First-Snow

The rabbit brush was in full bloom:

Rabbit Brush

I was following a single track mountain biking path… but I have this inclination to choose the gullies over the path whenever possible. That usually means I get to climb a bit:

Gully Track

Hiking yesterday, I had several tasks to accomplish, over the next few days I’ll tell you the results of my quest. In the meantime, I had an unexpected find. I arrived at my sit spot, a couple miles up into the hills and found a gift waiting for me… this one you’ll have to wait and see when it’s done. 😛 But I will show you the view from my sit spot…

View

I will be spending this afternoon cleaning  up my ‘gift’ and seeing if it really contains what I saw when I looked at it. At least that’s my plan, today I have lots of maybe’s on my plate. Starting this morning with a protest against Nestle Bottling – because we really want our aquifer drained by a multinational……… this will be my first actual protest. Not because I am not political, but because I am so political that I don’t believe in the political process. But this is local so I felt like it was something I should do. Maybe there will be a story in it. We’ll see.

Responses

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. […] Recent Comments terrapraeta on The Sky is CryingJCamasto on The Sky is CryingColumbus Day 2009 « Eros Philia Agape on Hobbes, Roussea and IndiansHABA Update « Eros Philia Agape on Not to ‘PooJimmyBean on My Backyard […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

