Posted by: terrapraeta | September 29, 2009

A New Renaissance


Harmony and understanding
Sympathy and trust abounding
No more falsehoods or derisions
Golden living dreams of visions
Mystic crystal revalation
And the mind’s true liberation
Aquarius!
Aquarius!

Hair, Aquarius

I’ve run across a couple of interesting things in the last week or so that relate to the way I’m thinking about moving into the future, post-collapse world. Or maybe, to put it better, about the path from now to then… one is a simple quote, apparently from Joss Whedon:

“Joy is the highest form of rebellion.”

Absolutely.  Kinda relates to a comment that I made on another friends blog a few weeks ago: he was feeling useless, cornered, generally really down about the whole establishment thing and so my response was this:

“*They* all suck, no matter how you look at it (being one of us that looks at it at all)… but don’t let it drag you… I’m really down, lately, on the whole “they can fuck with me all they want, but at the end of the day, they cannot change who I am… so I win.” … and so I plug on :-)”

And now today, I find my friend Tony writing about what the New Renaissance really looks like: not rebellion (at least not in the traditional sense… but perhaps yes, as joy), not protest or subversion, not as a virus infecting and changing the whole, but as a parallel other. You can read the whole thing here.

This is something I want to pull into a whole complete discussion, but I think I need to let it percolate for a day or two to wrap my head completely around it. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Categories

