Posted by: terrapraeta | September 30, 2009

Save America’s Youth


Outside a new day is dawning
Outside sububias sprawling everywhere
I dont want to go baby
New york to east california
Theres a new wave coming I warn you

Were the kids
Were the kids
Were the kids in america

Kim Wilde, Kids in America

So I’m sitting in the library, staring at a whole book shelf filled with Christian books (this same libray has ONE Derrick Jensen book. Don’t even get me started on that…). But the reason I’m writing this is that the first title to catch my eye was Battlecry for a Generation, The Fight to Save America’s Youth. It’s written by some dude named Ron Luce.

Now I know nothing about this guy, nor about the book beyond what I can see from my comfy chair. But I had an immediate reaction to the title. And it’s simple enough… the only thing America’s youth truly needs to be saved from is America’s older generations…… I mean seriously… every single problem for kids today was created by their parents, grandparents, great grandparents ad infinitum.

I hear this crap all the time, on so many levels and it seems to be pissing me off more all the time. Maybe because of my friends, maybe because my own son will soon be a “legal” adult (in my eyes, he’s already there), maybe just because every day I seem to shuck off more of societies bullshit. But whatever it is, I can’t seem to stop needing to vent about it, so if this comes up now and again, please bear with me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

