Posted by: terrapraeta | October 13, 2009

The Sky is Crying


The sky is cryin….cant you see the tears roll down the street
The sky is cryin….cant you see the tears roll down the street
Ive been looking for my baby
And I wonder where can she be

I saw my baby early one morning….she was walking on down the street
I saw my baby early this morning….she was walking on down the street
You know it hurt me, hurt me so bad
Made my poor heart skip a beat

Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Sky is Crying

It was raining this morning when I woke up. Used to be a common thing, but now that I live in the desert, its always a little surprising. But I find that today, the rain fits my mood. And I can’t help noting the irony of it all. Two nights ago, I found my kinnickinnick and harvested a bunch, divided it up and partially prepared some, hoping that at least the partially processed leaves would dry quickly. So of course it rains.

It does, however, beg the question… am I moody because it is rainy or is it truly ironic? Could be either one, equally.

I think I am having some doubts about my vacation next week. Not that I am questioning going, or the things I plan to do while I’m gone… but the theory is that going for a little while will allow me to come back refreshed and ready to face the next six months of working as much as I can, preparing for the big trip next year. But I am having a doubt. It may be that this small taste will make it harder to come back to daily humdrum. I know, I’m thinking too much – I have a tendency to do that. It’s the biggest barrier I have to maintaining the now. One day, I’ll find the key – I hope. Although part of me says that the key is exactly that – getting away from the daily humdrum, or more specifically, getting past this place where I am waiting to go do what I need to do.

Anyway, I think that’s enough pouting for one day. The rain seems to be clearing and I have the next two days to do what I want to do. So I guess I had better be about it.

Responses

  1. I think Katie calls it something like “sitting on my pity pot”…

    —–

    What’s the “big trip”?

    -Jim

  2. Yeah 🙂

    Funny thing is, once the rain stopped my mood did turn around and I ended up having a great day.:-)

    Next spring I am hoping/planning to take off for anywhere from two to five months, travel around, visit everyone that will have me, do a lot of camping in between… basically just set out and quest for my future… just waiting for the winter to pass and for the puppy to grow up a little before doing it….


Leave a Reply

Categories

