Posted by: terrapraeta | December 14, 2009

Decisions, Decisions


From nowhere
Through a caravan
Around the campfire light
A lovely woman in motion
With hair as dark as night
Her eyes were like that
Of a cat in the dark
They hypnotize me with love

She was a gypsy woman
She was a gypsy woman

She danced around and round
To a guitar melody
From the fire her face
Was all aglow
How she enchanted me
Oh how I’d like to hold her near
And kiss and forever whisper in her ear

Santana, Gypsy Woman

An interesting possibility pronounced itself this week which may mean that I am rethinking my plans for next spring. A couple of the boys I know are getting a new place, we think, and if they do it is going to turn into a nuevo gypsy camp. The property is surrounded by BLM land – in fact, it is in my back yard. Yet it is also only a few hundred yards from the river and thus, downtown. They tell me that there is a full set of tipi poles on site. I don’t yet know what size they are, nor if, in fact, it is a full set. But the idea of buying (or having made) a tipi canvas, with ozan and door and being able to live for a hundred bucks a month is kinda appealing. Especially if we are talking about spring/summer/fall.

Part of the reason I am thinking about this is simply financial – the last month and change my income has been dismal – certainly not what I needed in order to save the money necessary for a two month (or longer) cross country trip. If I decide to change my plans, I could cut my costs and work through next summer – summer being our traditionally busy time of year. That could put a whole lot more bucks into my bank account so that next fall I could take my trip and not have to worry about it. It also means that I would have a place to leave my stuff while I’m gone.

Another part of the reason? These boys are doing exactly what I am looking for, in some ways. And they are doing it spontaneously, which is one of the elements I have come to believe is critical to a successful community. And then there is the location which is absolutely awesome. It would mean an investment up front – in the tipi cover and accessories- but it would also mean that I could spend the summer really getting down on the local foraging opportunities, and possibly even start my farmer’s market “business” with home made sodas, canned and baked goods. All sorts of possibilities there.

Will it happen? I don’t know. But this is definitely something I want to think about over the next couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

