Posted by: terrapraeta | December 30, 2009

Follow You


I was on the outside when you said
You said you needed me
I was looking at myself
I was blind, I could not see
A boy tries hard to be a man
His mother takes him by his hand
If he stops to think he starts to cry
Oh why

If you walkaway, walkaway
I walkaway, walkaway
I will follow

U2, I Will Follow

I’ve been seeing those Google Friend Connect Sidebars more and more lately. You know the ones “Become a Follower”. I find them to be incredibly disturbing.

Looking into it more, I see that it is meant to be a networking tool to bring together people that enjoy reading the same blogs. Okay, kinda cool… but what exactly does it add to the mix? I mean… I’ve had plenty of conversations with varied people on varied blogs. Sometimes it leads to them reading my stuff, and/or me reading theirs. Sometimes it leads to an exchange of emails, or just ongoing sidebar comments on the blog where we “met”. (By “sidebar” I mean comments like “hey, how ya been” in the midst of discussion. 🙂 )

I’ve always thought it worked out rather simply… straightforward and easy.

But now we have “Become a Follower.” I have a friend (actually we have never met… but I do know her husband, her daughter… ) out in Cali that has been looking for work for a while, and recently she has decided to start a blog to showcase her work (she’s a writer). She has asked everyone she knows to “follow her” specifically to support her efforts toward employment. I get that. Does that really mean anything though? Honestly, I don’t know. Does it affect your google rating or technorati or something like that? Anyone got any insight?

Regardless, I can tell you right now that that sidebar will NOT be appearing here. I know it is probably innocuous, but language matters. And in this case, I find the language really disturbing and totally anti-thetical to the point of my writing. So we’ll just be leaving that one be.

Responses

  1. +1

  2. I really appreciate it. I don’t participate in those “herd sites” and got pretty upset when yahoo started pushing their email members into self-disclosure and herding. Like we need more crap floating around in the email-sphere.


Leave a Reply

Categories

