Posted by: terrapraeta | March 2, 2010

From the Archives: Tribal Life


And you may ask yourself
What is that beautiful house?
And you may ask yourself
Where does that highway go?
And you may ask yourself
Am I right?…Am I wrong?
And you may tell yourself
MY GOD!…WHAT HAVE I DONE?

Letting the days go by/let the water hold me down
Letting the days go by/water flowing underground
Into the blue again/in the silent water
Under the rocks and stones/there is water underground.

Talking Heads, Once in a Lifetime

(Yesterday, of course, being some years ago, now………..)

I had an awesome experience yesterday. Like stepping into another kind of life all together.

But lets start with some background. I have a good friend that is rather conservative… not in all ways, but certainly politically conservative. He and I have had long drawn out discussions about the church(he’s Catholic), about socio-political theory (with me espousing Libertarianism and/or Tribalism), and real time ‘troubles in the world.’ We rarely agree about much of anything.

Yet, back in June, he accompanied my husband and I to Bonnaroo Music Festival in Tennessee. As we were leaving, he announced that his ‘favorite part’ was waiting in line to get in. It was fun… see, we spent some three hours on the road leading into the venue, just hanging out with and talking to people in nearby cars. It was very organic and spontaneous and yeah, bizarre as it may sound, a good time was had by all!

So yesterday… he and his wife have decided to landscape their yard. I have flower gardens coming out of my ears, with lots of very mature perennial, etc, so I offered to give them divisions off my plantings. Easy enough so far. So yesterday my son and I went over to their house to help them lay out the flower beds, cut out the sod and so forth in preparation for planting next month.

It was a lot of work. We outlined and cut somewhere in the neighborhood of 1000 square feet of lawn. Lifted out the sod. Piled it up out of the way. But you know what. It wasn’t work at all. Know why? By the time we were well into the project, they had three more friends and a neighbor come to help. We had food on the grill. Cold beer and margaritas all around. Two hours of intensive work stretched out into four hours of work, play and mutual support topped off with more barbecuing, more beer and lots of good conversation. Best part of all. My son – who grumbles every time I ask him for help in the yard – got sucked right into the project and had a grand old time!

So here is my friend – who thinks my ideas are bunk – actually living out the functional aspects of my ‘ideologies.’ It was simply awesome to take part in… and the best part? That was only the first weekend of work. Next week, we amend the soil and run the rototiller. Weekend after that? Plant trees. And then, we will cap it all off in September when we actually do the plantings.

I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Categories

