Posted by: terrapraeta | March 30, 2010

Renewal


Fear in the air, tension everywhere
Unemployment rising fast, the Beatles new record’s a gas
And the band played on
And the band played on
And the band played

Eve of destruction, tax deduction, city inspectors, bill collectors
Solid Gold in demand, population out of hand, suicide
Too many bills, Everyone moving to the hills
People all over the world are dying in the war
And the band played on
And the band played on
And the band played on
And the band played

Ball of confusion
That’s what the world is today, hey, hey
Ball of confusion
That’s what the world is today, hey, hey
Ball of confusion
That’s what the world is today, hey, hey
Ball of confusion
That’s what the world is today

Hey Hey

Love And Rockets, Ball of Confusion

Wow guys. This month has been some kinda bizarre and crazy and hectic. I have some ideas for blog posts that I really am going to write up here really soon, but for today, let me give y’all an idea of where I have been recently.

I wrote about a month back that I had been fired from my job. It was a job that I really enjoyed and at certain rough points over the last couple years it was the one thing that kept me in this cute little small town that I both love and hate. That made it quite a blow to me on a number of different levels. If I had had more savings in the bank I probably would have simple packed up and left and been done with it. However, that was not the way things work and the last month has somewhat restored my faith in being here-now.

Within a week of becoming unemployed, I had an offer of very part time, seasonal work – I got up hours before daybreak in order to work a few hours of breakfast at one of the local vacation lodges for two weeks over Spring Break. I was not happy with the hours. I was not happy with the drive – or the snowfall involved in driving up the pass. I was not happy with the meager earnings involved. But it was work and it was enough to keep me going for a while so I did it. Good thing, too – one of the women that I worked with referred me to another place – one directly across the alley from my front door. As a result, as spring break began to slow down, I began another job working similar hours to those I had had for the last two years. Fabulous. However, that job was replacing this woman’s daughter in law as she was about to have a baby. So its good – but I am uncertain how long it will last. Certainly – probably – through the summer, but perhaps no more. Five days after I started work there, another friend recruited me to come work with him at another place here in town. I accepted that position – a few evenings a week to supplement my lunch shift – and started last night. So I now have two jobs, either of which may turn into a really good, long term position. And all of this in a town that is infamous for providing no work in the first half of the calendar year. Reputation is a good thing. (In fact, the lodge where I helped out has an open invitation to call me should they need occasional help and they have already expressed an interest in using that. My faith in me and my work has totally rebounded in the wake of the termination. 🙂 )

So that’s my professional life. On the personal side, my son came to visit and we spent a lot of time hanging out with my friends playing games and goofing off while he was here. A couple of the boys I know took him snowboarding, we visited my brother and his family, and generally we had a really good, inexpensive visit. Brilliant.

In other news, Eddie is back in town and that has added some unnecessary drama to my life. There has been a new guy in my life for the last few months, gradually developing into something that may become significant, and Eddie is now fully aware of it and none too happy. As a result, both me and my new beau have had a few evenings of trying to help him work through this, while simultaneously protecting ourselves from the worst of his excesses. There have been a few rough moments – more for Eddie and the new guy than me, but overall my levels of angst have been higher than I like them to be. I think we are all three starting to get a handle on the situation, but only time will tell.

Add to all of this – spring is in the air. We have had a couple of significant snowstorms over the last couple weeks, but when it is not storming it is spring. Thus my inevitable brain switch. I’m starting to think about hiking and sunning and communing and foraging yet I have not had the time, or quite yet the motivation to switch gears to summer mode. But I feel it rising in me and this will be a good thing. I just need to figure out how to balance everything going on in my life, what with my schedule, my personal interactions, and my budget all being in a completely different state than they were last fall. But I’ll figure it out and then things will return to some sort of state of normalcy. A new state of normalcy. And the band played on…..

Leave a Reply

Categories

